Steyn kicks 18 points as South Africa beat Australia

Morne Steyn

Steyn kicked four penalties and two drop goals for South Africa

South Africa ended their three-game losing streak in the Rugby Championship with an 18-10 victory over Australia.

Fly-half Morne Steyn, making his first Test start in two years, scored all the hosts’ points in Pretoria, kicking four penalties and two drop-goals.

Australia’s Scott Sio scored the only try as the Wallabies led 10-3, but they struggled to break down South Africa’s defence in the second half.

South Africa went above Australia into second place before the final round.

“Morne justified his inclusion,” South Africa coach Allister Coetzee said.

“He showed he is still a Test match player. He remains proud to play for the Springboks and that showed.

“I am a very happy man and will never underestimate any Test win. For a team that had their backs to the wall, a win like this means a lot and is a definite confidence booster.”

World champions New Zealand, who have already won the competition, play Argentina at 23:10 BST on Saturday.

For the latest rugby union news follow @bbcrugbyunion on Twitter.

South Africa: Patrick Lambie, Bryan Habana, Jesse Kriel, Juan de Jongh, Francois Hougaard, Morne Steyn, Rudy Paige, Warren Whiteley, Oupa Mohoje, Francois Louw, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Vincent Koch, Adriaan Strauss, Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: Bongi Mbonambi, Steven Kitshoff, Julian Redelinghuys, Lood de Jager, Willem Alberts, Jaco Kriel, Lionel Mapoe, Willie le Roux

Australia: Israel Folau, Dane Haylett-Petty, Samu Kerevi, Bernard Foley, Reece Hodge, Quade Cooper, Will Genia, Michael Hooper, Sean McMahon, Dean Mumm, Adam Coleman, Rob Simmons, Sekope Kepu, Stephen Moore, Scott Sio

Replacements: James Hanson, James Slipper, Tom Robertson, Kane Douglas, Scott Fardy, Lopeti Timani, Nick Phipps, Tevita Kuridrani, Sefa Naivalu

Article source: