Jordi Murphy: Ireland flanker out for ‘six to nine months’ because of knee injury

Jordi Murphy at Dublin Airport with the Ireland squad on Monday morning

Jordi Murphy, who has 17 caps, was on crutches when he returned home with the Ireland squad on Monday

Ireland and Leinster flanker Jordi Murphy has been ruled out for six to nine months because of a knee injury, the IRFU has announced.

Murphy, 25, injured his cruciate ligament during Ireland’s historic win over New Zealand on Saturday.

The flanker, who scored Ireland’s first try in the 40-29 victory in Chicago, will miss this season’s Six Nations.

Uncapped Connacht wing Niyi Adeolokun is among six additions for Saturday’s game against Canada (19:15 GMT)

Also called up are Munster pair Jack O’Donoghue and Darren Sweetnam, and Leinster’s Dan Leavy, who could also be in line for his first Ireland appearance.

Connacht full-back Tiernan O’Halloran and Munster prop Dave Kilcoyne have also been added to the squad.


Paddy Jackson and Keith Earls are both available after missing the game in Chicago

Jackson and Earls available again

Ulster fly-half Paddy Jackson is included in the squad after missing the trip to Chicago for personal reasons, while Keith Earls is available again after a serving a two-match ban following his sending off against Glasgow.

Johnny Sexton came off in the second half of Ireland’s first win over the All Blacks, but team manager Mick Kearney said the Leinster fly-half is not an injury concern.

“He came off purely because of cramp but he’s fine,” said Kearney.

Nigeria-born Adeolokun, 26, came to Ireland with his family as a 10-year-old and signed for Connacht in 2014 after playing for Trinity College in the All-Ireland League.

Ireland squad for Canada game: Niyi Adeolukun (Connacht), Finlay Bealham (Connacht), Rory Best (Ulster) capt, Joey Carbery (Leinster), Sean Cronin (Leinster), Ultan Dillane (Connacht), Keith Earls (Munster), Tadgh Furlong (Leinster), Craig Gilroy (Ulster), Cian Healy (Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ulster), Robbie Henshaw (Leinster), Billy Holland (Munster), Paddy Jackson (Ulster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), Dave Kilcoyne (Munster), Dan Leavy (Leinster), Kieran Marmion (Connacht), Luke Marshall (Ulster), Jack McGrath (Leinster), Luke McGrath (Leinster), Conor Murray (Munster), Sean O’Brien (Leinster), Jack O’Donoghue (Munster), Tiernan O’Halloran (Connacht), Peter O’Mahony (Munster), Jared Payne (Ulster), Garry Ringrose (Leinster), Donnacha Ryan (Munster), John Ryan (Munster), Johnny Sexton (Leinster), CJ Stander (Munster), Darren Sweetnam (Munster), Devin Toner (Leinster), James Tracy (Leinster), Andrew Trimble (Ulster), Josh van der Flier (Leinster), Simon Zebo (Munster).

Article source: