Henrik Stenson seals Race to Dubai, Matt Fitzpatrick wins Tour Championship

Breaking news

Open champion Henrik Stenson secured the Race to Dubai title as Englishman Matt Fitzpatrick won the DP World Tour Championship in Dubai by one stroke.

World number four Stenson was 12 under and shared eighth place, regaining the European Tour crown he won in 2013.

Fitzpatrick, 22, one behind overnight, won his third title, a birdie at the last securing a 67 to finish 17 under.

Tyrell Hatton bogeyed the last for a 68 and was second, with overnight leader Victor Dubuisson four shots back.

World number two Rory McIlroy, who needed to win the tournament and Stenson to be outside the top 45 to have any chance of winning the Race to Dubai for a third successive year, had seven birdies and an eagle in a closing 65 and also shared eighth.

Sweden’s Alex Noren, six strokes behind overnight, would have claimed the $1.25m bonus prize for winning the European Tour money list prize had he won the tournament, but he could only post a 71 and finished eight under.

Masters champion Danny Willett needed at least a top-four finish to have any chance, but dropped to joint 51st place after a third-round 76, and he finished with a 70 to tie for 50th, 16 strokes off the pace.

More to follow.

We’ve launched a new BBC Sport newsletter, bringing all the best stories, features and video right to your inbox. You can sign up here.

Article source: