England draw Scotland at women’s Euro 2017

England will meet Scotland in Utrecht

England will meet major tournament debutants Scotland in Utrecht on 19 July

England have been drawn to face Scotland in the group stages of Euro 2017 in the Netherlands.

The British sides meet in the opening game of Group D on Wednesday 19 July.

They will be joined in their group by Spain – beaten by England in a friendly in October – and the lowest-ranked side at the tournament, Portugal.

Top-seeds Germany – who have won the tournament six times in a row and last lost at a European Championship in 1993 – face Sweden, Russia and Italy.

The tournament will be played in seven stadiums and begins on 16 July, with the final on 6 August.

For the first time 16 teams will take part, up from 12 in 2013, a move Uefa president Aleksander Ceferin said would add “an extra dimension”.

But the meeting between England and Scotland in Utrecht appears the stand-out fixture in the group stage and in their last meeting, the sides shared a 4-4 draw at the Cyprus Cup in 2013.


Anna Signeul’s Scotland have never played in a major tournament

Scotland go into the tournament as one of five debutants, along with Austria, Belgium, Portugal and Switzerland.

Anna Signeul’s side, who have never played in a major tournament, qualified as runners-up in their group, their one defeat in eight games coming against group winners Iceland.

England won their group, recording seven wins and a draw to beat Belgium to top spot.

Mark Sampson’s side are the third-ranked side at Euro 2017, behind France and Germany, the side they beat beat to finish third at the 2015 World Cup.

Hosts the Netherlands, ranked ninth of the 16 teams, will meet 1993 winners Norway in the opening match of the tournament in Utrecht, with Belgium and Denmark completing Group A.

England meet the Netherlands in a friendly on 29 November and also have a fixture with Italy scheduled for 6 April.

Draw in full:

Group A: Netherlands, Belgium, Denmark, Norway

Group B: Germany, Sweden, Russia, Italy,

Group C: France, Iceland, Austria, Switzerland

Group D: England, Scotland, Spain, Portugal

Article source: