Cartier Racing Awards 2016: Minding named Horse of the Year


Minding is a five-time Group One winner with victories in the 1,000 Guineas, Oaks, Nassau Stakes and Queen Elizabeth II Stakes in 2016

Minding has been named Horse of the Year at the Cartier Racing Awards.

The five-time Group One winner in 2016 triumphed as her Irish trainer Aidan O’Brien dominated the event celebrating the best of European flat racing.

O’Brien was given the order of merit and his horses Found and Order Of St George won the older horse and top stayer categories.

Stablemate Churchill was leading two-year-old colt, while Minding also won the three-year-old filly prize.

Minding’s victories included the 1,000 Guineas, Oaks, Nassau Stakes and Queen Elizabeth II Stakes.

Jockey Ryan Moore said he had been “very lucky” to ride “consistent and honest” Minding during 2016.

O’Brien was responsible for five of eight award winners after orchestrating an incredible 1-2-3 in the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe in October, led by Found.

‘Every ride could be the last’

Leading flat jockey Moore was one of several guests at the event reflecting on the injury to Freddy Tylicki, who has been left paralysed from the waist down after a fall at Kempton last Monday.

Moore described it as a “terribly sad situation” in a “dangerous sport”, but added that jockeys “all sort of push that [risk] to the back of our minds”.

Three-time champion jockey Frankie Dettori, 45, said he was “in a state of shock” over the “terrible accident” to his friend and neighbour Tylicki.

He said: “Such a young man with a great future. It’s a dangerous sport, we all know that, but we don’t know anything different. We are going to be there for him.”

Olympic cyclist-turned-amateur jockey Victoria Pendleton added: “It’s a really great camaraderie between the riders because they appreciate every ride could be their last.

“If you look at the odds, it’s not as dangerous as some people think. But you’d be crazy if you didn’t have a long hard think about that and it didn’t affect you.”

Full list of winners

Two-Year-Old Colt: Churchill

Two-Year-Old Filly: Lady Aurelia

Three-Year-Old Colt: Almanzor

Three-Year-Old Filly: Minding

Sprinter: Quiet Reflection

Stayer: Order Of St George

Older Horse: Found

Horse of the Year: Minding – owned by Derrick Smith, Sue Magnier Michael Tabor

Award of Merit: Aidan O’Brien

Subscribe to the BBC Sport newsletter to get our pick of news, features and video sent to your inbox.

Article source: